News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/9/2022 10:35:00 AM to 2/2/2023 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

Our City News

Posted on: June 7, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Cedar Falls Public Safety Announces 2021 Service Awards

Public Safety award winners

Cedar Falls Public Safety has announced its 2021 service awards, recognizing team members who displayed exceptional achievement within the department over the past year. A ceremony was held at the Public Safety Building, located at 4600 South Main Street, on June 2 to commemorate the event.

Awards included the Cedar Falls Police Officer of the Year, Firefighter of the Year, the RJ Voss Police Supervisor of the Year, Fire Officer of the Year, and the Scott Sterrett Reserve Police Officer of the Year. The ceremony also honored graduates of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy and welcomed new officers. 

Acting Public Safety Director Craig Berte, Fire Chief John Bostwick, Acting Police Chief Mark Howard, and City Administrator Ron Gaines were all in attendance with Cedar Falls Mayor Rob Green providing closing remarks during the event. 

"Our team has continued to display the commitment that exemplifies what it means to be true public servants," said Acting Director Berte. "It is important to recognize these achievements and the work they do to protect and serve our citizens. We thank these individuals as well as the entire Public Safety team."

Cedar Falls Public Safety 2021 Award Recipients

*Excerpts taken from their nomination letters, submitted by department supervisors                                                                                                                                                    

Police Officer of the Year: Adam Hancock 

"Officer Hancock is one of the Department's top Field Training officers and takes a lot of pride in working with our newest officers. As noted by the County Attorney's Office, Officer Hancock is not only excellent in completing reports and follow-up, but also is extremely compassionate while working with victims. In fall 2021, he completed training to be a certified Drug Recognition Expert and has already utilized that training to assist other officers in Drug involved OWIs. In 2021, he interviewed for a spot in the Investigative Unit and will be moving to that position in 2022. His willingness to assist others and to continue to become a more knowledgeable officer makes him an excellent candidate for Officer of the Year." 

Firefighter of the Year: Lucas Schmidt

"Lucas Schmidt has earned the respect of his colleagues for his knowledge, authority, and leadership. His hard work, dedication, and performance go above and beyond. He is a graduate of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy and certified in Firefighter 1, Firefighter 2, Hazmat Operations, Emergency Medical Technician, and a Driver/Operation with many other certifications in the field of NIMS/ICS and Firefighting. He always carries a desire to learn new skills and pass his knowledge to those around him. Lucas comes to work every day with one goal in mind and that is to do his job to the best of his ability and teach others." 

 RJ Voss Supervisor of the Year: Gavin Carman

"Lt. Carman takes his position as a supervisor incredibly seriously and shows up every shift ready to perform as a leader. In 2021, he was promoted first to Acting Lieutenant and then to Lieutenant on Second Shift. During this time, he attended Leadership training through LEEDA/FBI which helped him further develop. He excels in his decision-making and responsibilities, earning the trust and respect of his team." 

Fire Supervisor of the Year: Todd Taylor

"Captain Taylor is a self-motivator and willing to help out in any way he can. He uses very good judgment and his work quality is of the highest merit. He is always looking to improve his knowledge, skills, and abilities. He consistently takes on additional duties and provides help to others. Captain Taylor is currently one of the main instructors in the fire department. His conduct and behavior are something others should strive for. He stays calm and collected during stressful events. His proficiency in his duties is a sign of his professionalism and dedication to performing at the highest level."

Scott Sterrett Reserve Officer of the Year: Cory Hines

"Cory is an excellent representative of the department. He is self-motivated and ready to assist in any way he can, including supporting the newer reserve officers. His knowledge, skills, and abilities show in his performance of duties and are a sign of his professionalism."

Awards of Excellence 

Firefighter Matt Krueger

Investigator Carson Barron

Investigator Kendall Schwan

Investigator Ryan Bellis

Officer Branden Madsen

Firefighter Kyle Manternach

Officer Christian Baumgartner 

Records Clerk Jodi Harn 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Our City News

Parking survey quick read code

Cedar Falls Downtown Parking Survey

Posted on: February 19, 2024 | Last Modified on: May 16, 2023

Walnut Road Closure Notice

Posted on: February 16, 2024 | Last Modified on: May 16, 2023
public parking meeting text

Cedar Falls to Host Public Meetings for Downtown Parking

Posted on: February 8, 2024 | Last Modified on: May 16, 2023

MET Transit Public Input Meeting

Posted on: February 6, 2024
Acting Chief Mark Howard sitting with citizens during coffee with a cop

Coffee With a Cop Events

Posted on: February 1, 2024

Sidewalk Scaffolding - East 4th Street

Posted on: January 22, 2024
CF Press Release

Winter Safety Reminders

Posted on: January 8, 2024

Trail Closure - South Riverside Trail

Posted on: December 27, 2023
overhead shot of the cedar river

Cedar River Recreational Project Update

Posted on: December 21, 2023
TC panther mascot with a family

Panthers on Parade

Posted on: August 29, 2023
Kids sitting in a row with firefighters

Cedar Falls Hosts Youth Fire Academy

Posted on: August 2, 2023
Fireworks allowed from 9 AM to 10 AM on July 3 and From 9 AM to 11 AM on July 4 (text)

Cedar Falls Fireworks Ordinance

Posted on: June 2, 2023
construction updates graphic

27th Street Reconstruction Phase II

Posted on: September 15, 2022