City Council

The City of Cedar Falls has a mayor-council form of government. The council and mayor perform duties that are authorized or required by state law and by the City Code of Ordinances, Resolutions, and rules and regulations of the City.

The council consists of seven members, two at-large (representing the entire city) and one from each of the five wards, elected for terms of four years. City elections are Non-Partisan and take place in odd-numbered years.

Council Committees

  • Administration
  • Public Works
  • Community Relations and Planning

Communicating with the City Council 

To email City Council members individually click the City Council Members page link here (or using the link to the left) and click on his or her name.

To correspond with ALL council members click herePlease note: the Mayor is NOT included in this email. Click here to email the Mayor.

Depending on the subject matter, the Mayor and City Council members may not be able to respond to your email. Neither the Mayor nor City Council members are able to respond to any emails received from the public related to land use matters such as amendments to the comprehensive plan, zoning amendments, and site plan approvals, due to City policy and state law prohibiting ex parte communications. An ex parte communication occurs when only one side of a land use issue is presented by someone outside of an open Council meeting. To ensure an open decision making process that is fair to everyone, all communications related to land use matters will be forwarded to the City Clerk and included as part of the packet of information provided to the Mayor and Council, and made available to the public, for the Council meeting in which the land use matter is considered.


Council members do not have set hours at City Hall. Residents are welcome to call them at their listed phone number(s). Click the City Council Members page link to the left to view their profiles.


All correspondence addressed to the City Council becomes a permanent public record and is archived by the City. Mail should be addressed to: Council Members, 220 Clay Street, Cedar Falls, IA 50613.


All correspondence addressed to the City Council becomes a permanent public record and is archived by the City. Fax to: Council members at (319) 268-5126.

In person at a Council meeting 

Citizens are welcome to address council at its formal meetings, please see our public participation page for guidelines.